2018 EY Entrepreneurs of the Year

Honoring successful business leaders in the Heartland.
2018 EY Entrepreneurs of the Year

Through its Entrepreneur of the Year program, EY recognizes CEOs and regional business leaders for their entrepreneurial accomplishments and major contributions to their communities. EY’s Heartland region of competition encompasses Greater Kansas, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota.

Judges selected 13 leaders from 10 companies for the Entrepreneur of the Year awards. Executives of Anytime Fitness and Ryan Companies are the Minnesotans who received the special award. They were recognized for building and leading successful, growing, and dynamic businesses.

Dominic Iannazzo, program director of EY’s Heartland region, says the entrepreneurs “boldly break the mold to create new solutions, innovations, and possibilities that redefine how we live, work, and play.”

Leaders from 20 other companies were finalists for the EY award. Thirteen of the finalist companies are based in Minnesota.

The 2018 Entrepreneur of the Year awards were presented June 14 at a gala at the Hyatt Regency in Minneapolis. The Heartland region winners will participate in EY’s national award competition. National winners will be announced at a November 10 event in Palm Springs.


Holly Benson
Centene Corporation

Brent Blackey
Holiday Companies

Jo Anne Gabbert
JAG Portfolio Services

Scott Gage
ShoreView Industries

Sri Kantamneni

Amy Nelson
Bayada Home Health Care

Jerry Sax
Entrepreneur advisor

Greg Twardowski
Whelan Security

Jerry Will

For more information on the Entrepreneur of the Year program, contact Jim Kowitz in EY’s Minneapolis office: jim.kowitz@ey.com, 612-371-8301, or visit the program’s website at ey.com/us/eoy/um

Read more from this issue

2018 Entrepreneur of the Year Awards

Pat Ryan

Pat Ryan

The current chairman of the board at Ryan Cos., as well as its former CEO and president