2014 Minnesota Cup Names 70 Semifinalists

2014 Minnesota Cup Names 70 Semifinalists

The 70 semifinalists move to the next round of the annual competition, with $300,000 in prizes up for grabs.

The Minnesota Cup announced Monday that 70 semifinalists have advanced to the next round of the annual entrepreneur competition—and will now compete for $300,000 in prize money.

The 70 entrepreneur teams were selected from a pool of nearly 1,300 applicants, the highest number of entrants ever, for the 10th annual Minnesota Cup, a statewide competition that seeks out the most innovative business ideas.

Thirty-four percent of the entries came from women-led teams, while a total of 45 percent included entries with at least one female team member—the largest representation of female participants in the competition’s history. (Twin Cities Business recently reported on the demographic breakdown of the overall applicant pool.)

The semifinalists named Monday, whom are divided into seven divisions, will have the opportunity to put together a detailed business plan with the help of the competition’s mentor network, take advantage of a free one-month membership to co-working space Café, Inc., meet members of the Cup’s review board, and attend events organized by Cup partners.

On August 18, finalists for each division will be announced, and each division winner will be awarded $30,000 in seed capital (with the exception of the student and social divisions, which are awarded $20,000 each). Additionally, one runner-up from each division will receive $5,000.

The division winners will then compete for a grand prize of an additional $50,000—and they will all be honored at an event on September 10 that evening at the University of Minnesota’s McNamara Alumni Center.

“Minnesota has long been an incubator for innovation, and the Minnesota Cup harnesses that innovative spirit with the help of our extensive local business network,” Minnesota Cup cofounder Scott Litman said in a statement. “Our goal is always to find the great ideas of the future and help transform them into the next successful, Minnesota-based companies. And this year’s strong applicant pool is no exception—we’re so excited to see what will develop through the summer.”

The semifinalists are listed by division below:

Energy/Clean Technology/Water Division

  • 75F – Deepinder Singh, Blue Earth County
  • CleanSpray(tm) Filters – Jan Jachimowicz, Hennepin County
  • Friction Reduction – Gary Pozarnsky, Hennepin County
  • IHB Fuel Technology – Hans Iverson, Hennepin County
  • LigSis – Jason Kamau, Ramsey County
  • Magnetic Induction Heating System – Ron Immerfall, Morrison County
  • MyRain – Steele Lorenz, Scott County
  • Pelican Lake Holdings – Robert Anderson, Grant County
  • The Green Habit – Holly Chan, Hennepin County
  • Viroment – Paul Koenig, Washington County

Food/Agriculture/Beverage Division

  • BDW Biotechnologies LLC – Adam Woodruff, Hennepin County
  • Cool Jerk – Mani Vannavong, Hennepin County
  • Dashfire Bitters – Lee Egbert, Ramsey County
  • Fresh Bar – William Handke, Hennepin County
  • Locally Laid Egg Company – Jason Amundsen, St. Louis County
  • Mighty Axe Hops – Eric Sannerud, Anoka County
  • Origin Meals – Tyler Carlson, Hennepin County
  • Philia Foods LLC – Mike Rakes, Hennepin County
  • Punk Rawk Labs, Inc. – Alissa Barthel, Hennepin County
  • Trovita Health Science – William Brown, Hennepin County

General Division

  • Blumen – Eddie Olson, Hennepin County
  • Collaps-a-tow – David Lysaker, Otter Tail County
  • Corrometer – Paul Jaeger, Ramsey County
  • DocentEDU – Matthew Nupen, Washington County
  • FeelsWarm Heated Countertop Technology – Jahn Stopperan, Dakota County
  • InvolvEdu – Joe Janiszewski, Hennepin County
  • JenTra Tools – Travis Kelley, Cass County
  • Modiron, LLC Natalie Herrild Dakota County
  • Terry Lloyd – Megan Reinbold, Ramsey County
  • YOXO – Jeff Freeland Nelson, Ramsey County

High Tech Division

  • Drive Power Smart Driving Mobile Solution – Mike Moen, Hennepin County
  • Elevate – Joe Stanton, Dakota County
  • EXOGAL – Jeff Haagenstad, Dakota County
  • InfiniRAM – Martin Fenner, Washington County
  • OMG Transit – Matt Decuir, Hennepin County
  • OmnID – Scott Johnson, Anoka County
  • Nexting – Mark Daigle, Hennepin County
  • Scrapm, a yearbook on your phone – Ryan Taylor, Hennepin County
  • SparkStarter – Tony Kramer, Washington County
  • TransAuth – Andrew Carlson, Ramsey County

Life Science & Health IT Division

  • Andas Inc – Joseph Jensen, Hennepin County
  • iCareSoft – Joseph Baron, Hennepin County
  • Fortiori Design LLC – Roger Schmitz, McLeod County
  • Learn To Live LLC – Dale Cook, Hennepin County
  • Omnis Pharma – Shruthi Naik, Olmsted County
  • OrthoCure, Inc. – Ken Shain, Hennepin County
  • SpineThera – Jeff Missling, Hennepin County
  • SynapseBLUE – David Sullivan, Hennepin County
  • Reduction of Medical Implant Infections – Cyrus Munshi, Hennepin County
  • VivaQuant, LLC – Brian Brockway, Ramsey County

Social Division

  • Aynah – Katie Campbell, Hennepin County
  • Begins with a Dreamer – Joy McBrien, Hennepin County
  • curenci, LLC – Dave Kuettel, Hennepin County
  • GoSolar! Kids – Tyler Tracy, Hennepin County
  • Ground Truth Collaborative – Kathleen Thompson, Ramsey County
  • Let's Talk Kids: Brain Builders, A Playing and Learning Kit – Candi Walz, Chisago County
  • Picture Impact – Anna Martin, Hennepin County
  • Pragati Palms – Katrina Becker, Carver County
  • Twin Cities Mobile Market – Leah Driscoll, Ramsey County
  • Verde Environmental and Medsaway – Carter Anderson, Dakota County

Student Division

  • Austin White-Pentony, Hennepin County
  • Echo Spot – Nadya Nguyen, Hennepin County
  • Endle – Kurt Weber, Hennepin County
  • GoYoga – Jessica Tjornehoj, Hennepin County
  • ilos Videos – Sean Higgins, Crow Wing County
  • Jonny Pops – Connor Wray, Rice County
  • Northwoods Hops Farm – Erin Kayser, Hennepin County
  • PLUGZ – John Holt, Hennepin County
  • Penguin Feet, LLC – Andrew Ellingson, Hennepin County
  • U-Swap.org – Nathan Shrader, Hennepin County

The winners of the 2014 Minnesota Cup will be profiled in Twin Cities Business magazine later this year. Read about last year’s winners here.