EY Names 2019 Heartland Entrepreneurs of the Year
The 14 winners of the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year® Award in the Heartland. (Photo courtesy of EY).

EY Names 2019 Heartland Entrepreneurs of the Year

This year’s list of winners includes business leaders from six Minnesota companies.

Professional services firm Ernst and Young has announced the winners of the Heartland division of its annual Entrepreneur of the Year Award. The Heartland division encompasses Greater Kansas, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, and North and South Dakota. The 2019 list of winners includes business leaders from six Minnesota companies:

  • Charles Kummeth, CEO of Minneapolis-based medtech device maker Bio-Techne
  • Benjamin, Caroline, Isabel, and Kimberly Bercaw, family founders of Minneapolis-based bath bomb company Da Bomb LLC
  • Timothy Herbert, president and CEO of Golden Valley-based medical treatment innovator Inspire Medical Systems
  • Jeremy Segal, founder and CEO of Proozy, a workout clothing company based in Eagan
  • Shelly Ibach, president and CEO of bedding company Sleep Number, based in Minneapolis
  • Benjamin VandenWymelenberg and John Guenveur, the founders and CEO and director of strategic partnerships, respectively, of Minneapolis-based wood product manufacturer Woodchuck USA

Now in its 33rd year, the annual award recognizes business leaders excelling in innovation, financial performance, and industry impact.

The Heartland honorees were chosen from 29 finalists announced late April. Winners are determined by a panel of independent judges composed of previous award winners, CEOs, investors, and other business leaders.

“There are many successful entrepreneurs in this world, but to build something truly remarkable, you can’t let anything stand in your way,” said Debra von Storch, EY Americas Entrepreneur of the Year program director, in a statement from EY. “EY is proud to honor the 2019 winners who are inspiring innovation without limitation and fueling growth and prosperity by being truly unstoppable.”

The regional winners were announced at a June 27 event. They’ll now move on to consideration in the national competition. The Entrepreneur of The Year National Overall Award winner will be announced at a Nov. 16 gala in Palm Springs, California.

The national program is sponsored by SAP America and the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation. Local sponsors for the Heartland division include PNC, Salo, Schulze School of Entrepreneurship, and Twin Cities Business.