Andersen CEO to Retire, President Will Replace Him

Company President and COO Jay Lund will replace seven-year CEO Jim Humphrey upon his retirement in March.

Jim Humphrey, Andersen Corporation's CEO of seven years, will retire from active management on March 31, the window- and door-maker said Monday.

President and Chief Operating Officer Jay Lund will take the reins as CEO at that time as part of what the company is calling a “planned succession.”

“It has been an honor to lead Andersen Corporation,” Humphrey said in a statement. “For more than a century, it's been one of the most respected companies in our industry. It remains so today, and I am proud to have been part of its success. We have an excellent team at Andersen who will continue our journey forward.”

Following the management transition, Humphrey will continue to serve as the company's board chair.

Since Humphrey joined Andersen in 1999, he has built the company into a more “customer-centric” organization through actions like streamlining its distribution system to build more direct customer relationships, according to the company. Andersen also credits Humphrey with leading the expansion of its product portfolio through expansion and acquisition and developing its leadership team.

Lund, who became COO in 2009 and the 10th president in Andersen's history in 2009, joined the company in 1985. Since then, he's held a series of positions with increasing responsibilities; those positions have spanned IT, marketing, sales, distribution, and logistics.

“These roles, along with his deep involvement in company transformations such as the expansion of the product portfolio and the development of more efficient distribution strategies, have prepared him well for his expanded leadership position,” the company said in a news release.

Andersen markets products throughout North America and in South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. It is among Minnesota's 10-largest private companies based on revenue, which totaled an estimated $2.1 billion during its most recent fiscal year.