Three MN Leaders Among ‘Most Influential People In Health Care’

UnitedHealth Group, Mayo Clinic and Fairview Health Services represented on Modern Healthcare’s annual Top 100 list.

Three Minnesotans this week made a publication’s annual “100 Most Influential People in Health Care” list, led by UnitedHealth Group CEO Stephen Hemsley ranking in the top five.
Hemsley placed fourth on Modern Healthcare’s 13th annual list, topped this year by President Barack Obama. UnitedHealth is the state’s largest public company and 14th on Fortune’s 500 list, with more than $122.5 billion in revenue as of last year.
The health care publication also ranked Mayo Clinic President and CEO Dr. John Noseworthy 16th while Rulon Stacey, president and CEO of Minneapolis-based Fairview Health Services, came in at 87th.
The Mayo Clinic and Fairview Health Services operate two of the state’s largest hospitals and cardiac care centers. Last month, the Rochester-based Mayo Clinic topped U.S. News & World Report’s annual rankings of the nation’s top hospitals.
To put together its list, Modern Healthcare solicited nominations this past spring, receiving more than 15,000 submissions. The magazine said its final ballot featured 300 candidates based on those who received the most nominations. Readers voted for their top five candidates between May and June, casting more than 31,000 ballots. Readers’ votes counted toward 50 percent of the list’s outcome with the publication’s senior editors determining the other 50 percent.
This month’s issue of Twin Cities Business, on newsstands Sept. 2, features profiles of five winners of its annual Outstanding Health Care Awards. TCB recognized individuals for lifetime achievement, community outreach, patient experience, procedure innovation and employer initiative.
This year’s winners are as follows (click each name to read more):
• Lifetime Achievement Award: Susan Gunderson, CEO, LifeSource
• Community Outreach Award: Jeri Peters, vice president and chief nursing officer, UCare
• Patient Experience Award: Barb Rode, president and CEO, Saint Therese
• Procedure Innovation Award: Dr. Andrew Portis, medical director, HealthEast Kidney Stone Institute
• Employer Initiative Award: Dave Lagerstrom, CEO, Turck Inc.; Mick Hannafin and Jeanne Clay, Ahmann-Martin.