MN Approves Change to Tuition Reciprocity with WI

Under the new agreement, Wisconsin students attending college in Minnesota will have to make up the difference between Wisconsin's and Minnesota's resident rates-a cost that was previously covered by the State of Wisconsin.

The State of Minnesota on Monday signed a deal previously approved by Wisconsin that preserves an existing tuition reciprocity agreement but includes a change for Wisconsin students attending Minnesota schools.

The Minnesota-Wisconsin Interstate Tuition Reciprocity program allows residents from either state to attend public universities, colleges, and technical colleges in the other state at in-state tuition rates. The tuition charged by the school a student plans to attend in the other state is compared with a similar school in his or her own state, and the student pays the higher of the two rates.

Previously, if the Minnesota resident tuition rate exceeded the Wisconsin resident rate, the State of Wisconsin provided a reciprocity supplement to its residents to cover the difference. But under the change approved by Minnesota on Monday, that difference will now be paid by the student, said Peter Zammuto, grant specialist at the State of Wisconsin Higher Education Aids Board (HEAB).

Students starting in 2012 will have to pay the difference. Currently enrolled students and those who start this fall will not be affected until 2015, at which time no student will receive the supplement. Minnesota students attending college in Wisconsin will not be affected by the change.

More than 10,000 Wisconsin residents take advantage of the reciprocity program each year, according to a Monday press release from Wisconsin Governor Scott Walker's office. While all Wisconsin residents are eligible, participation is not automatic. Students must complete an application form to be processed by HEAB.