Dakota County Commissioners Vote To Leave CTIB

The suburban county is the first to leave the regional transportation funding body.

Dakota County voted late on Tuesday to leave the Counties Transit Improvement Board, a metro-area body that funds transit projects.
County leaders expressed concerns that they were not seeing a return for the quarter-cent sales tax that CTIB levies. Dakota County currently contributes 13 percent of CTIB’s funding and got about 7 percent of spending.
The county current has one major transit line funded by CTIB: the Metro Red Line, a bus rapid transit (BRT) route, opened in 2013. It runs from Lakeville to Mall of America in Bloomington along Cedar Avenue.
The county plans to use a relatively new state law that allows them to levy up to a half-cent for transportation projects within the county – which could include non-transit projects. Dakota will have to wait three years before it could use the tax revenue.
“I think we could do so much more if we kept it ourselves,” the Star Tribune reports commissioner Liz Workman said.
CTIB was created in 2008 with Hennepin, Ramsey, Dakota, Anoka and Washington counties as members. Two other metro counties, Scott and Carver, did not join.
Read more here.