Entrepreneurs Of The Year
2016 EY Entrepreneurs Of The Year

2016 EY Entrepreneurs Of The Year

Upper Midwest: Minnesota, Iowa, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota

Through its Entrepreneur of the Year program, EY recognizes businesspeople who can spot a market opportunity, devise a successful strategy to fill that market need, and possess the strong leadership skills to motivate employees to rally around the company’s mission.

Each year, EY honors leading CEOs and regional business leaders for their entrepreneurial prowess and notable contributions to their staff and communities. The Upper Midwest division for EY’s competition covers Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota. EY judges selected leaders from eight companies for the Entrepreneur of the Year awards. They earn the honor for building and leading successful, growing and dynamic businesses; EY spotlights them as role models who can inspire others to channel their passions into distinctive businesses.

Eleven leaders from those eight companies are profiled in the following pages of Twin Cities Business, and Douglas Baker Jr., CEO and chairman of Ecolab Inc., was named master entrepreneur. Baker was recognized for his extraordinary entrepreneurial achievements, leadership and vision in helping make Ecolab a global leader in water, hygiene and energy technologies and services that protect people and vital resources, as well as for his steadfast commitment to the Twin Cities community.

The 2016 Entrepreneur of the Year awards were presented June 9 at the JW Marriott hotel at Mall of America. All of the entrepreneurs will be entered in EY’s Entrepreneur of the Year overall national award program, whose winners will be announced November 19. Those winners move on to compete for the World Entrepreneur of the Year Award next June in Monaco.